Performance Enhancing Toddlers

by aenoblin

You’ve not lived until you’ve been at home all day with a croupy kid hopped up on steroids. 

Seriously. 

I was hiding in the bathroom after my husband got home from work when it occurred to me that I haven’t updated in a couple of days. I do have a pretty good excuse, though. This was my weekend in a nutshell (and in chronological order)

1) On Saturday the owners of the house that my family has been living in for two years informed us that they were selling and that we had to buy or be out by May.

2) I tried to submit my novel for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel contest and the competition was already closed. 

3) We spent most of early Monday morning (from midnight on) in the ER with our two year old. He has Croup, which in the grand scheme of things isn’t too scary, but he has a lot of respiratory issues–issues the pediatrician calls “asthmatic tendencies”–and so any little thing can turn into a big problem…fast. 

4) Aforementioned two year old was given a high dose of steroids and banned from daycare until tomorrow. 

5) It isn’t payday until tomorrow. 

So…yeah, it has been a stressful few days, and I’ve spent nearly all my time browsing houses for sale in my area and hanging out with a miniature version of Lance Armstrong.

I have gotten a few things done, though. I sent out a draft of my novel to about 15-20 readers, which makes me really, really nervous. I know most of them, but I’m close friends with only a few of them. I’m really hoping for some usable criticism, but I’m worried that they: 

A) Won’t like it

B) Won’t be critical for fear they’ll hurt my feelings

C) Won’t respond at all

D) Won’t like it

I’m really worried that they won’t like it. I mean, OF COURSE, I’m worried about that. I read all the time about writers who are so in love with their books that they can’t handle criticism. Or they are so thin-skinned that they can’t handle criticism.

I’m just genuinely afraid that my book sucks. 

Tonight, after I put Mommy’s Little Monster to bed, I’m going to begin the daunting task of going through the 2013 Guide to Literary Agents. I’ll be spending the next few days (or weeks) with my Kindle app, a notebook, and some highlighters. I’ll be researching and researching agents and agencies that might be interested in representing me about 100 drafts from now. 

But right now I’m going to go fill a dropper full of cough medicine and hope for the best. 

 

