by aenoblin

I received the first critique of my novel yesterday. It was so enlightening! I won’t lie–it helped that the reader (whom I don’t even know, might I add) liked the story. She was positive, but at the same time gave me lots of helpful feedback. She asked questions about story flow in a few parts. She asked about parts of the story that didn’t make sense or presented a problem for her as she read. Some of these things I’d also noticed, and it was good to know that other readers are going to pick up on these things as well.

I still have lots of work to do. 

But I’m encouraged. 

I wanted to share with you one of the positive things my reader wrote:

I was enthralled enough with the story that when it was time to leave work yesterday I considered emailing myself the copy that I had been making comments on so that I could continue reading and commenting. I actually had to tear myself away and finish the story this morning. For me that is the ultimate sign of whether something “good” or not.

This has been a ridiculous week. I am emotionally and physically drained. But I’m also feeling energized to jump back into my story and flesh out a few of those problem areas.

It’s time to go and buy a new pen.

 

