Fuck you, revision!

by aenoblin

I’ve decided that the chances of me giving up on this book during the revision process are a lot more likely than the chances that I would have given up during the initial draft.

Seriously. Revision sucks.

I find myself constantly amazed by how many errors I find and by how much needs to be fixed. Isn’t the work supposed to get better with each draft? I’m on page 37 of draft #4, and I just want to chuck it into the trash bin.

HOW did I miss all this shit the first time? It is so bad that I had to go back and make sure I’d printed off the right draft, which brings me to another question–how much drafting am I supposed to do before I send it off? At this point, it feels like it will never be ready, and I know that no matter how many times I read it, I’ll always find something wrong. I’m not the kind of writer who can look at anything she’s written and think, “Yep. That’s perfect.”

So how will I know?

I don’t want to start querying agents before its ready, but I don’t want to butcher the thing. There is such a thing as too much revision. 

WHERE IN THE HELL IS THE HAPPY MEDIUM??

I bought a new bra over the weekend, and it is squeezing me just a little tighter than I’m comfortable with. I think that’s the problem. Maybe I’ll be able to figure something out once the blood flow returns to the upper half of my body.

Since, you know, that’s where my brain is.

 

