Slish Slush: making my way through the 2013 Guide to Literary Agents

by aenoblin

Below I have listed the agents/agencies I queried that were featured within the 2013 Guide to Literary Agents, which accounts for maybe half of the agents I queried in total. The book was a great guide and a great place to start. Ultimately, this was not how I found my agent. I’ll list the other agencies I queried that were NOT in this book in another post. 

Every agent/agency I queried represented one of three genres: commercial (or general fiction, which honestly encompasses a LOT), women’s fiction, or romance. I’ll link their websites if one is available. Please be advised that sometimes agents don’t respond if they are not interested in seeing more material. So a non-response doesn’t always mean the agent is flaky or not interested, and many of them ask for as long as 12 weeks to give a response. 

A+B Works: Queried 4/24. Rejected 5/10.

About Words Agency: Queried 4/24 and have never heard back.

The Ahearn Agency, Inc: Queried 3/25 and have never heard back. 

Miriam Altshuler Literary Agency: Queried 3/29 and have never heard back.

Betsy Amster Literary: Queried 3/25 and have never heard back.  

Artists and Artisans: Queried 4/24 and have never heard back. 

Robert Astle and Associates Literary Management, Inc: Queried 3/25 and have never heard back.

Avenue A Literary: Queried 3/25 and have never heard anything back. 

Barer Literary: Queried 4/24, and have never heard back, although I DID get an automated message stating that they received my query. 

Barone Literary Agency: Queried 3/29. This is one of the agencies on which I should have done more research. On 3/31 Ms. Barone asked me to “re-write” the sample chapters I sent to her. I thought that was kind of strange, because if she didn’t like the way the first three chapters were written, she probably wasn’t going to like the rest of the novel. I am not going to say that she is not a capable agent. However, I will say that most of her sales are to small presses that don’t require an agent. Ultimately, I did not resubmit the chapters to her. 

Liza Dawson Associates: Queried 3/25. I’m pretty sure I was rejected by this agency, but I don’t have it marked down. 

Baror International, Inc: Queried 4/15, and have never heard anything back. 

Loretta Barrett Books, Inc: Queried 3/29, and have never heard anything back. 

Faye Bender Literary Agency: Queried 4/24, and have never heard anything back. 

The Bent Agency: Queried 3/29. Rejected 4/9. I accidentally re-queried this agency and sent Jenny Bent an e-query in May. Once I realized my error, I sent her another email apolgoizing. She hadn’t been the agent to reject me originally. She responded about a week later with a polite rejection. In fact, she was extremely nice about it and had very nice things to say about my sample chapters. Jenny Bent is a class-act, and anyone represented by her is a lucky duck. 

Vicky Bijur Literary Agency: Queried 4/24. Rejected 5/9. 

David Black Literary: Queried 4/24, and have never heard anything back. 

Bond Literary Agency: Queried 4/15, and have never heard anything back. 

BookEnds, LLC: Queried 3/25. Request for first 3 chapters from Jessica Alvarez, but was ultimately rejected on 4/20. This was my first rejection after a request, and it really sucked. She was nice about it, though. 🙂 

Bradford Literary Agency: Queried 3/29. Rejected 4/15.

Brandt & Hochman Literary Agents, Inc: Queried 4/24, and have never heard anything back. 

Barbara Braun Associates, Inc: Queried 4/15. Rejected: 4/17. They’re fast!

Paul Bresnick Literary Agency, LLC: Queried 4/17, and never heard anythin back. 

Curtis Brown, LTD: Queried 4/25, and never heard anything back. This agency does say that should they ask for material that they’d like to be exclusive. At the time, I had no other partials or fulls out there, so it would have been okay. Just make sure you know that before you query. 

Browne & Miller Literary Associates, LLC: Queried 4/25. Rejected 5/6.

Tracy Brown Literary Agency: Queried 4/25. Rejected 4/26. They’re fast!

Sheree Bykofsky Associates, INC: Queried 4/17, and have never heard anything back. 

Kimberly Cameron & Associates: Queried 4/17, and have never heard anything back. 

Maria Carvainis Agency, Inc: Queried: 3/28. Rejected 4/2. Pretty quick!

Castiglia Literary Agency: Queried 4/25. Received a request for the first three chapters from Winifred Golden. She said she’d get back to me within a week, but I never heard from her. I take partial responsibility for that because I should have nudged. Interestingly, I heard back from her today about the offer of rep I’ve received. She asked me to send the rest of the ms. 

Chase Literary Agency: Queried 4/25. Rejected 4/25. Fastest of the fast! I took a chance on Farley Chase because he had been interested in my non-fic project a few years ago, and I was really impressed with him. I pretty much knew that he was going to reject me, though. My book isn’t really his thing. At the time, he was with another agency (can’t remember who), and he is out on his own now. 

Jane Chelius Literary Agency: Queried 4/25, and never heard anything back. 

Elyse Cheney Literary Associates, LLC: Queried 4/26, and never heard anything back. I did, however, receive a confirmation that the email had gone through where they stated that they do not respond if they are not interested. 

The Chudney Agency: Queried 4/17. Rejected 5/3. 

FinePrint Literary Management: Queried 3/26. Got a request for the first 50 pages from Becky Vinter. I was ultimately rejected. I can’t find the rejection date, but it came about 5 weeks later. 

Frances Collin, Literary Agent: Queried 4/25. Rejected 4/30. 

Don Congdon Associates: Queried 3/26, and have never heard anything back. 

Cornerstone Literary, INC: Queried 4/29, and have never heard anything back. 

The Creative Culture: Queried 4/29, and have never heard anything back. 

Laura Dail Literary Agency, INC: Queried 4/29. Rejected 5/13.

Liza Dawson Associates: Queried 3/25. Rejected 4/17. 

The Jennifer DeChiara Literary Agency: Queried 4/1, and have never heard anything back. 

DeFiore & Co: Queried 4/1. Rejected 4/13.

Jacques De Spoelberch Associates: Queried 4/29, and have never heard anything back. 

Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency: Queried 4/1, and have never heard anything back. 

Dunham Literary, INC: Queried 5/14, and have never heard anything back. 

Dunow, Carlson, & Lerner Agency: Queried 4/17. Rejected 4/23. 

Dystel & Goderich Literary Management: Queried 3/28. Rejected 5/2. 

Anne Edelstein Literary Agency: Queried 5/14, and have never heard anything back. 

Judith Ehrlich Literary Management, LLC: Queried 5/14, and have never heard anything back. 

Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency: Queried 3/27, and have never heard anything back. 

The Nicholas Ellison Agency: Queried 5/14, and have never heard anything back. 

Fairbank Literary Representation: Queried 3/27. Rejected 3/29 Super fast!

The Fielding Agency: Queried 5/14, and have never heard anything back.

Diana Finch Literary: Queried 5/14. Rejected 5/26.

Folio Literary Management: Queried 3/27, and haven’t heard anything back. I did, however, receive an automated email that they received my query.

Fox Literary: Queried 3/27. Rejected 4/4. 

Lynn C. Franklin Associates, LTD: Queried 5/14, and have never heard anything back. 

Sarah Jane Freymann Literary Agency: Queried 5/14. Received a request for the first 10 pages from Ms. Freyman on 5/16. Personal rejection on 6/12. She was very nice and invited me to submit future projects to her. 

The Friedrich Agency: Queried 5/15, and have never heard anything back. 

Gelfman Schneider Literary Agents, INC: Queried 5/15, and have never heard anything back.

The Gernert Company: Queried 4/8, and have never heard anything back.  

Frances Goldin Literary Agency, Inc: Queried 5/15, and have never heard anything back. 

Irene Goodman Literary Agency: Queried 3/26, and never heard anything back. However, I did receive a confirmation email stating that if they wanted to see more they would let me know. 

Doug Grad Literary Agency, INC: Queried 3/27, and have never heard anything back. 

Sanford J. Greenburger Associates, INC: Queried 4/8, and have never heard anything back. 

Kathryn Green Literary Agency, LLC: Queried 3/28.  Rejected 4/17. 

Jill Grosjean Literary Agency: Queried 4/8. Rejected 4/9. FAST!

Laura Gross Literary Agency: Queried 5/16, and have never heard anything back. 

Richard Henshaw Group: Queried 4/3, and have never heard anything back.

HSG Agency: Queried 5/16. Ms. Carrie Hannigan requested the first 50 pages on 6/1. When I emailed her to tell her about my offer of representation, she asked for me to send the rest of my ms. I ultimately declined to send it. She is very nice and professional.  

Fine Literary: Queried 4/3. I’m pretty sure I was rejected by this agency, but I can’t find the info to confirm it. 

Andrea Hurst Literary Management: Queried 5/16, and have never heard anything back. 

Inkwell Literary Management: Queried 4/3. Rejected 4/22.

International Transactions, INC: Queried 5/16, and have not heard anything yet. 

Jabberwocky Literary Agency: Queried 5/16, and have never heard anything back. 

Jet Literary Associates: Queried 5/16. Received an email from Ms. Liz Trupin stating that due to a family illness she is no longer accepting queries. She was very polite. 

Natasha Kern Literary Agency: Queried 4/3, and have never heard anything back. I did, however, receive an automated email stating that if they were interested I’d hear back from them. 

Harvy Klinger: Queried 4/8. Rejected 4/9. FAST!

Kneerim & Williams: Queried 5/17. Rejected 5/21.

KT Literary: Queried 4/8. Rejected 4/25.

The LA Literary Agency: Queried 5/17, and have never heard anything back. 

Laura Langlie Literary Agent: Queried 5/17. Rejected 5/17. Super fast!

Michael Larson/Elizabeth Pomada LIterary Agents: Queried 4/8. Rejected 4/10. While I appreciated the quick response, I felt like Ms. Pomada was quite flip in her response. Maybe I read into it more than I should have, but it really rubbed me the wrong way. 

The Leshne Agency: Queried 5/17, and have yet to hear back. 

Levine Greenberg Literary Agency, INC: Queried 5/17, and have yet to hear back. 

Paul S. Levine Literary Agency: Queried 5/17. Rejected 5/18. FAST!

Lippincott Massie McQuilkin: Queried 5/17. Request for the first 50 pages on 5/21 from Mr. Jason Anthony. Ultimately a very kind rejection on 5/30. All in all, this was extremely quick turnaround. 

Lowenstein Associates, INC: Queried 4/9, and have yet to hear back. 

Marsal Lyon Literary Agency, LLC: Queried 4/8. Received a request for the first 50 pages from Ms. Kevan Lyon on 4/12. Ultimately a very helpful rejection on 5/13. I was pretty bummed to be rejected by Ms. Lyon. I really wanted to work with her, although I know now that it worked out for the best. 

Lyons Literary: Queried 5/17, and have yet to hear back. However, I did receive an automated email stating that if they were interested they would let me know within 3 weeks. 

Donald Maass Literary Agency: Queried 4/8. Rejected 4/16. 

Gina Maccoby Literary Agency: Queried 5/17, and have yet to hear back. 

Ricia Mainhardt Agency (RMA): Queried 4/10, and have yet to hear back. 

Kirsten Manges Literary Agency: Queried 4/10, and have yet to hear back. 

Carol Mann Agency: Queried 4/10. Rejected 5/8. I think they may have requested some sample chapters, but I can’t find the documentation. 

Manus & Associates Literary Agency, INC: Queried 4/17, and have yet to hear back. I actually accidentally re-queried on 5/17 without realizing it until just now (oops). I have yet to hear back from either query, lol. 

The Denise Marcil Literary Agency, INC: Queried 5/17, and have yet to hear anything back. 

McIntosh & Otis, INC: Queried 4/10, and have yet to hear back. 

Dee Mura Literary: Queried 4/10. Rejected 5/14. 

Muse Literary Management: Queried 4/10, and have yet to hear back. 

Jean V. Naggar Literary Agency, INC: Queried 5/17, and have yet to hear back. 

Nelson Literary Agency: Queried 4/10. Rejected 4/12. 

Northern Lights Literary Services, INC: Queried 4/10, and have yet to hear back. 

Fifi Oscard Agency, INC: Queried 4/10, and have yet to hear back. 

Park Literary Group, LLC: Queried 4/10, and have yet to hear back. 

Pearson, Morris, & Belt: Queried 5/17, and have yet to hear back. 

L. Perkins Agency: Queried 4/11, and have yet to hear back. 

Alicka Pistek Literary Agency,LLC: Queried 4/11, and have yet to hear back. 

PMA Literary and Film Management, INC: Queried 4/12, and have yet to hear back. 

Linn Prentis Literary: Queried 4/13, and have yet to hear back. 

Prospect Agency: Queried 4/13, and have yet to hear back. I did, however, receive an automated message to let me know my query had been received. 

Helen Rees Literary Agency: Queried 4/13. Rejected 4/13. Super fast!

Angela Rinaldi Literary Agency: Queried 4/13. Rejected 4/15. Pretty quick!

RLR Associates, LTD: Queried 4/14, and have yet to hear back. 

B.J. Robbins Literary Agency: Queried 4/14, and have yet to hear back. 

Jane Rotrosen Agency LLC: Queried 4/14, and have yet to hear back. 

Wendy Schmalz Agency: Queried 4/15, and have yet to hear back. 

Scovil Galen Ghosh Literary Agency, INC: Queried 4/14, and have yet to hear back. 

Serendipity Literary Agency, LLC: Queried 4/8, and have yet to hear back. 

Wendy Sherman Associates, INC: Queried 4/18, and have yet to hear back. I did, however, get an automated email letting me know they’d received my query.

Spencerhill Associates: Queried 4/15, and have never heard anything back. 

The Spieler Agency: Queried 5/18, and have not heard back yet. 

Steele-Perkins Literary Agency: Queried 4/18, and have never heard anything back. 

Stonesong: Queried 5/18, and have never heard anything back. 

Robin Strauss Agency, INC: Queried 4/18. Rejected 5/6. 

Pam Strickler Author Management: Queried 4/18. Rejected 4/23. 

The Stringer Literary Agency: Queried 4/18. Rejected 4/23. 

The Strothman Agency: Queried 4/18. Rejected 4/22. 

The Stuart Agency: Queried 4/18, and have never heard anything back. 

Emma Sweeney Agency, LLC: Queried 4/18, and have never heard anything back. 

The Swetky Agency: Queried 4/18, and have never heard anything back. 

Stephanie Tade Literary Agency: Queried 5/18. Rejected 5/20. Pretty fast turnaround!

Talcott Notch Agency: Queried 4/18, and have never heard anything back.

Tessler Literary Agency: Queried 4/19, and have never heard anything back.  

Three Seas Literary Agency: Queried 4/19, and have never heard anything back. 

Triada U.S. Literary Agency, INC: Queried 5/18, and have not heard back. 

Trident Media Group: Queried 4/19. Received request for full ms on 4/23 from Ms. MacKenzie Fraser-Bub. When I contacted her about being offered representation, she asked for three days to continue reading, but ultimately declined the ms. She was extremely polite and had really nice things to say about my book. She was one of my top 10 agents. 

The Unter Agency: Queried 5/25, and have not heard anything. However, I did get an automated email stating that the agency received my query and that they would contact me if they were interested in viewing more. 

Upstart Crow Literary: Queried 4/19. Rejected 4/24. 

Venture Literary: Queried 4/19, and have never heard anything back. 

Veritas Literary Agency: Queried 4/22, and have never heard anything back. 

Waxman Literary Agency: Queried 4/8, and have never heard anything back. 

Weed Literary: Queried 4/22, and have never heard anything back. 

WM Clark Associates: Queried 4/23. Rejected 4/29. 

Wordserve Literary: Queried 4/24. Rejected 4/24. It is no surprise that I received a same-day rejection from this agency. This is yet another agency I failed to research as much as I should have. In fact, I’m really surprised I queried them at all because they clearly state that they are a Christian-based agency. My novel is not rooted in spirituality of any kind, and there are drugs, sex, and violence within the text. So…yeah. Once again, do your damn research!

Writers House: Queried 4/24, and have never heard anything back.