Vacation, all I ever wanted…

by aenoblin

I got an email this morning from Priya. She wanted to make sure I knew it was official.

How freaking COOL is that?

It was really nice opening up my email to see that, because today has not been the greatest of days. We’re supposed to be leaving tonight on vacation for a week, and my son woke up with asthmatic bronchitis (he’s had chronic respiratory and allergy issues since birth). Any little flare up can turn into a big deal very quickly. There are few things more terrifying than watching your child struggle to breathe. I generally qualify this by saying that I know in the grand scheme of childhood illness, his isn’t all that terrible. But that doesn’t make it any less shitty for him when he’s sick.

Now he’s on an antibiotic and we’ve got to do breathing treatments around the clock. The antibiotic made him sick to his stomach (add that to the fact that we’re potty training), so this afternoon was especially exciting. I felt so badly for him. He’d just flush the toilet before he would look at me and say, “Mommy. I gotta go again.”

Poor kid.

Moving on…I’d like to say HELLLOOOO to all my new followers. I’m so glad you’re here! I’d also love it if you’d follow me on Twitter. I’m @aenoblin, and I’m always looking to follow more people. I let my Twitter account languish for about a year, but now I’m back and trying to build a following. Which, in all honesty, sounds kind of lame. But I keep reading and hearing about how important it is to have a platform and an internet presence, which is something I’m not super great at. I don’t like the thought of having to promote myself because I don’t want people to think that I’m being self-involved. In some ways, I hate the digital aspect of publishing/writing because it puts all this pressure on writers that many of us are ill-equipped to deal with. Most of us are totally weird and awkward 99.9% of the time. However, at the same time there are so many neat things about being able to build an online readership or self-pubbing or interacting with other writers in a way that makes the sterotype of the lonely writer obsolete.

I don’t know. I’m just going to jump in and do the best I can. I mean, what else can a girl do?

